Message from the General Chair and TPC Chairs



Sushil Jajodia                Wenjing Lou              Wade Trappe


On behalf of the Organizing Committee and the Technical Program Committee (TPC), it is our great pleasure to welcome you to Washington D.C., and to IEEE CNS 2013, the first IEEE International Conference on Communications and Network Security.

Cyber security has become an important research and development area for academia, government, and industry in recent years.  As interest and investment in cyber security continue to grow, there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of new results generated by the research community, which must be disseminated widely in order for this research to have an impact.  This led to the genesis of IEEE CNS, a new member in IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) core conference portfolio and the only ComSoc conference focusing solely on cyber security. IEEE CNS is also a spin-off of IEEE INFOCOM, the premier ComSoc conference on networking. The goal of CNS is to provide an outstanding forum for cyber security researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and users to exchange ideas, techniques and tools, raise awareness, and share experience related to all practical and theoretical aspects of communications and network security.

In this inaugural year, we are delighted to see a strong interest in the conference. We received 141 paper submissions from 32 countries, of which 40 papers were accepted after a rigorous review process. This process consisted of reviews by TPC members, on-line discussions among reviewers, additional reviews (when needed), and oversight and recommendation by Area Chairs. The final decisions were made by the TPC chairs. Each paper received at least three TPC reviews. A best paper award committee was formed and two outstanding papers were selected to receive the best paper award and the best paper runner-up award at the opening ceremony.

We are thankful to all the TPC members and external reviewers. Their dedicated effort and quality reviews allowed us to put together a strong technical program. The 40 papers have been organized into eight technical sessions covering a broad range of topics in communications and network security, from the physical layer information theoretical security to higher layer architectures, protocols and applications reliant on a secure communication substrate.

In addition to the high-quality technical sessions, CNS 2013 program features two outstanding keynote addresses, two exciting panels, 28 posters covering various timely topics in communications and network security, and two co-located workshops dedicated to emerging topics of cyber security. We are specially honored to have two world-renowned leaders in communications and network security, Gene Tsudik of University of California, Irvine and Vipin Swarup of MITRE Cooperation, to deliver two keynote addresses.

Starting a new conference requires a great vision, a lot of dedication and coordination.  We are indebted to Harvey Freeman and Tom Hou, the past and current IEEE INFOCOM Steering Committee Chairs, for identifying the need for a ComSoc conference on security. We are very fortunate to have their support and wisdom throughout the development of this new conference. They have always been there to help us in all aspects of the conference organization, operation and management. We also want to thank many members of the ComSoc Board of Governors (BoG), who showed their confidence and support to the CNS founding members and organizing committee during various critical stages in the development of this first conference.  Thanks also go to other members of the organizing committee. Everyone has done an excellent job to make this new conference a success.  Our sincere appreciation goes to IEEE ComSoc staff Bruce Worthman and Debora Kingston, who as usual provided invaluable assistance in managing the conference and in taking care of many aspects of conference logistics.

We acknowledge with gratitude our patrons, VeriSign Corporation and Virginia Tech’s Hume Center, for their generous support. We also thank the National Science Foundation (NSF) and Army Research Office (ARO) for the generous CNS student travel grants that supported over 30 students to attend this conference. In particular, we acknowledge the efforts of Dr. Min Song of NSF and Dr. Cliff Wang of ARO who made this support possible despite the tight government budget due to the sequestration.  

Last but not least, we thank all the authors, speakers, and attendees for a truly excellent job. It is their contribution and participation that makes the first CNS a success.

We trust that you will enjoy the conference and your stay in Washington DC. We also look forward to your continued contribution and participation in future CNS conferences.


Sushil Jajodia
IEEE CNS 2013 General Chair

Wenjing Lou and Wade Trappe
IEEE CNS 2013 Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs



The website is maintained by the webmaster.